The 4C’s of Diamonds

Like every relationship, every diamond is unique and special. At Orloff Jewelers our goal is to help you make an informed and educated decision.

Clarity is graded based on the number, location, size and type of the inclusions found in the diamond.

Flawless: Free from all inclusions or blemishes.

Eternally Flawless: No inclusions visible.

VVS1 VVS1: Minute inclusions – very difficult to see under magnification 10x to 50x.

VS1 VS2: Minor inclusions – Difficult to see under magnifications 10x to 30x. SI1 SI2: Noticeable inclusions mainly in the center under 10x magnification, few exceptions.

I1 I2 I3: Imperfect – inclusions extremely visible to the unaided eye. No magnification needed.

A diamond can divide light into a spectrum of colors and reflect light in colorful flashes of fire called scintillation!

D: Absolutely colorless
E: Extremely colorless
F: Colorless
G-H: Near colorless
I-J: Color slightly detectable
K-M: Color datable
N-Z: Color extremely datable

The cut of a diamond is known to be the most important characteristic of the diamond. The proportion, symmetry and finish of the diamond will determine how well the facets of the diamond interact with light. This is directly related to the sparkle ability! The diamond cut scale starts at excellent, very good, good, fair, and poor.

The diamond carat is the measurement of how much the diamond weighs. Each carat of weight can be subdivided into 100 points. For example, 25 points in .25 carats and 50 points is .50 carats.

Pin It on Pinterest

Share This